List of all Private Public & Foreign Sector Bank In India 2020


Private Sector Bank:

Where the majority of shares in Bank, capital held by the Private Bank. ex- Axis Bank, ICICI Bank, HDFC Bank, etc.

Public Sector Bank:

Where the majority of stake(share) 51% or more in Bank, by Govt. of India. ex- SBI, PNB, CBI, UBI, AB, etc.

Private Sector Bank List:

          Bank Name           Headquarters              Established
1. Axis Bank 1993 Mumbai, Maharashtra
2. Bandhan Bank 2015 Kolkata, West Bengal
3. Catholic Syrian Bank 1920 Thrissur, Kerala
4. City Union Bank 1904 Thanjavur, Tamil Nadu
5. D.C.B Bank 1930 Mumbai, Maharashtra
6. Dhanlaxmi Bank 1927 Thrissur, Kerala
7. Federal Bank 1931 Aluva, Kerala
8. HDFC Bank 1994 Mumbai, Maharashtra
9. ICICI Bank 1994 Mumbai, Maharashtra
10. IDBI Bank 1984 Mumbai, Maharashtra
11. IDFC Bank 2015 Mumbai, Maharashtra
12. IndusInd Bank 1964 Mumbai, Maharashtra
13. Jammu & Kashmir Bank 1938 Srinagar, Jammu & Kashmir
14. Karnataka Bank 1914 Mangaluru, Karnataka
15. Karur Vysya Bank 1916 Karur, Tamil Nadu
16. Kotak Mahindra Bank 1903 Mumbai, Maharashtra
17. Lakshmi Vilas Bank 1926 Chennai, Tamil Nadu
18. Nanital Bank 1922 Nainital, Uttarakhand
19. RBL Bank 1943 Mumbai, Maharashtra
21. South Indian Bank 1929 Thrissur, Kerala
21. Tamilnad Mercantile Bank 1921 Thoothukudi, Tamil Nadu
22. Yes Bank 2004 Mumbai, Maharastra

Bank Merger on 1 April 2020 

On 30th August 2019, the big announcement for public sector banks (government banks) merger. Total 27 banks in 2017 and after big merger 1st April 2020 12 banks in India.

                               Banks Merger                                               Rank                    
Bank of Baroda, Vijaya Bank, Dena Bank (BOB) 3rd largest Public Sector Bank
Punjab National Bank, Oriental Bank of Commerce and United Bank of India (PNB) 2rd largest Public Sector Bank
Canara Bank and Syndicate Bank Canara Bank 4th largest Public Sector Bank
Union Bank of India, Andhra Bank, and Corporation bank Union Bank 5th largest Public Sector Bank
Indian Bank and Allahabad Bank Indian Bank 7th largest Public Sector Bank

Current List of 12 Public Sector Bank:

1. Bank Of Baroda 1908 Vadodara, Gujarat
2. Bank Of India 1906 Mumbai Maharastra
3. Bank Of Maharastra 1935 Pune Maharastra
4. Canara Bank 1906 Bengaluru, Karnataka
5. Central Bank Of India 1911 Mumbai Maharastra
6. Indian Bank 1907 Chennai, Tamilnadu
7. Indian Overseas Bank 1937 Chennai, Tamilnadu
8. Punjab National Bank 1894 New Delhi
9. Punjab & Sindh Bank 1908 New Delhi
10. State Bank Of India 1955 Mumbai Maharastra
11. UCO Bank 1943 Kolkata West Bengal
12. Union Bank of India 1919 Mumbai Maharastra

Foreign Banks:

These are the Bank which is registered and have their headquarters in Foreign Country but Co-operate their bank in our country India. ex- Hong Kong Sindhi Bank Corporation (HSBC Bank)

Top 10 Foreign Banks in India:

  • Citi Bank.
  • Standard Chartered Bank.
  • HSBC India.
  • Deutsche Bank.
  • Royal Bank of Scotland (NatWest Markets PLC) 
  • DBS Bank. 
  • Barclays Bank.
  • Bank of America.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here